Dinner… At This Hour

7 Jun

Yesterday was my birthday, and it has been over for 49 minutes and counting. I spent all day doing homework and tending to my 3-year-old, so I really didn’t cook. At about 11 o’clock my boyfriend and I got hungry. He thought I was supposed to cook a big birthday dinner, for myself. Men… Luckily for him he knows that I love to cook. So for dinner tonight at roughly at 11, I started cooking. It didn’t take me that long either. I cooked minute steak with onions, garlic, and mushrooms, butter & herb rice, Parker house style yeast rolls, and a chef salad. It wasn’t a bad meal, if I do say so myself. Okay none of my meals are bad. I am a really good cook. The rice was real simple I used Lipton, follow the directions on the bag. I put together a chef salad. I used a Fresh Express salad bag mix (anyone will do, whatever suits your taste) then added 1 medium tomato, a half of a cucumber, mild cheddar cheese, and bacon bits. I used rolls from your grocers freezer, the ones in the silver tin, I just brought store a store brand; they taste the same. You just heat and eat, real simple. If anyone wants to try my meal the recipe is as follows:

Steak with mushrooms, onions, and garlic

1 pound 25 ounces minute steak
half of 1 onion sliced
1 clove of garlic
3 ounces fresh sliced mushrooms
2TB flour
non stick cooking spray
2 beef bullion cubes
1TB oil (vegetable oil, oilve, or corn oil)
seasonings of your choice I used McCormick’s Montreal Chicken seasoning, Webber Grill Creations N’Orleans Cajun, and parsley

Stick steaks with a fork before cooking, so they won’t be tough.
Spray George Forman grill with non stick cooking spray, and place steaks on the grill. Season steak to your liking with the N’Orleans Cajun seasoning, then close grill. Flip steaks after 3 minutes and season the other side. While steak are cooking place sliced onions, mushrooms, and oil in a non stick skillet, on high heat. Once the mixture starts to sizzle reduce to medium high heat, and cover. Once the veggies have been satued, add garlic. Take steaks off of the grill and add to the pan with onion. Once the steaks and garlic are in the pan, add 2 1/2 cups of water, and the 2 beef bullion cubes. Turn heat back up to high, so the water will boil. Once the water starts to boil turn heat down to medium and put a top on the pan. Wait untill the liquid in the pan is reduced a little. Move the meat and veggies to one side of the pan, and add flour 1TB at a time, making sure you smoothe the flour into the liquid with the back of a wooden spoon to avoid lumps. After the flour is incooperated into the water, stir everything together, and let thicken for about 3 minutes. Add the Montreal chicken seasoning (enough to your likening, it doesn;t take that much) and a dash or 2 of parsley. Stir once again and turn off the heat.
Now you can plat up your steaks and eat… Enjoy!!

One Response to “Dinner… At This Hour”

  1. Patrice June 8, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    The food looks good. Maybe I will have to check back in to see what you are cooking.

Leave a Reply

